About Zayera: my background

I was born in Karachi Pakistan, in 1974. My parents are Sunni Muslims born around the time of partition, and our families moved from different parts of India. My father's family comes from Punjab. My mother's family is from Kashmir. Urdu and Punjabi are my native languages, although I only speak Urdu. The first four years of my life were spent in Karachi, Pakistan.

My father is an adventurer who left Pakistan. My parents became college teachers in Nigeria. From 1978-1984, the whole family lived in Nigeria. I attended primary school in Nigeria. Having grown up in Nigeria, I have many fond memories.

My parents left Nigeria when Nigerian politics became turbulent. My father started his doctoral studies at the University of Lund, where he received a Ph.D. in chemistry. Once again, the entire family relocated to Lund, Sweden. From 1984 to 1994, I lived in Lund. Attended Svenshögskolan, Fäladsgården, and Katedralskolan. My time at Lund University lasted one year.

As I wanted to explore other places and leave home, I found a program I was interested in and moved to Skövde. From 1994 to 1997, I studied Cognitive Science at the University of Skövde.

My studies led to a position as a research assistant at KTH in Stockholm from 1997 to 1998. From 1998 to 2000, I studied Interaction Design at Malmö University, as I was still not ready to start working professionally.

After completing my bachelor's and master's degrees, I felt confident and began working in IT. A consulting company called Cambridge Technology Partners hired me in June 2000. During my time there, I worked on assignments in Holland and California.

In 2001, I relocated to Zurich, Switzerland, and stayed there until 2006. Having learned German, I can speak it fluently. After traveling for three months, I moved to Amsterdam, Holland, where I lived from 2006 to 2007. I then returned to Switzerland, this time to Lausanne, where I lived from 2007 to 2008. Since 2008, I have been based in Stockholm.

I have worked in IT and product development, designing new products and services in my professional career. I have worked for consulting companies, on assignments, and also for the public sector in Sweden. Among the organizations I have worked for are FMV, Jordbruksverket, Försäkringskassan, Arbetsförmedlingen, Scania, HSB, and Azets.

Positions of Trust in Sweden

Tidigare styrelse- och förtroendeuppdrag

  • Nämndemannavalberedning, MP Stockholmsdistriktet, 2023

  • Medlem i IMY insynsråd at Integritetsskyddsmyndigheten, 2020 - 2023

  • God Man, Överförmyndarförvaltningen i Stockholms stad, 2020 - 2022

  • Djurförsöksetiska nämnden, Stockholms tingsrätt, 2019 - 2020​ (avslutat i förtid)

  • Ledamot i Säkerhets och Integritetsskyddsnämnden, 2015 - 2019

  • Nämndeman i Svea Hovrätt, 2015 - 2019

  • Ordförande i PMS-förbundet, 2018 - 2019

  • Styrelseledamot i Stockholm Pride, 2016 - 2017

  • Antirasistiska arbetsgruppen Stockholm Pride, 2015-2016

  • Ordförande i nättidningen Feministiskt Perspektivs styrelse​

  • Styrelseledamot i Miljöpartiet Stockholm Stad 2012 -2 014

  • Ledamot i Jämställdhetskommitten Miljöpartiet, 2013 - 2015

  • Styrelseledamot i Interfem 2012 - 2013, Sammankallande för valberedningen 2013 - 2014

  • Styrelseledamot Nättidningen Feministiskt Perspektiv 2013 - 2014, Valberedningen 2014-2015

  • Valberedningen RFSL Stockholm 2014-2015

  • Nämndeman Stockholms Tingsrätt 2013-2014


  • Studiecirkelledare utbildning på Studiefrämjande 2019. Hållit i en studiecirkel kring "Kollektivhus och Bogemeskap" under våren 2019.

  • Menstruationsaktivist, producerat dokumentärfilmer om menstruation samt skrivit artiklar.

  • Riksdagskandidat MP Stockholm Stad i valet 2014.​ Aktiv medlem 2009-2015 i MP Stockholm Stad, mångfaldsgruppen, informationspolitiskt nätverk, jämställdhetsnätverk, nämndemannanätverket. För MP Stockholm Stad har jag tagit fram jämställdhets- och mångfaldsplan, utfört medlemsenkäter.

  • Grön tillväxt, ingår i klimatgruppens styrgrupp 2012 - 2014

  • Kongressombud för MP Sthlm Stads och sammankallande för kongressgruppen våren 2012.

  • Arrangerat 2 workshopar om ”härskartekniker” för MP Stockholm tillsammans med Interfem (augusti och september 2012).

  • Föredrag om ”Non-violence och stress” på MP Botkyrka Kvinnodagen, arrangerat av Christel Kraupp och Esabelle Dingizian, 18 oktober 2012.

  • Kärnfrågor: integritet, värderingar, rättigheter, jämställdhet, mångfald, delaktighet i samhället, meningsfull sysselsättning, stödja HBTQ-personer i samhället.

  • Arrangerat workshops och olika aktiviteter på Stockholm Pride.

I have been active in many organizations in Stockholm. This is a summary of my positions of trust, albeit in Swedish. At the moment, I do not hold any positions of trust. Please contact me if you have any proposals.

Get in touch